International Rally champions confirmed for Queensland Rallycross

The driver line-up for the third round of the Queensland Rallycross Championship at Lakeside Park on Saturday 6 August will include two international motor racing champions with South African Marius Swart and Irishman Michael Coyne set to contest the event.

Swart, a seasoned South African Rally contender will pilot a VW Polo in the 4wd/Rally class while dual Irish Rallycross champion Coyne, will pilot a Loco Energy Racing Mazda 2, previously campaigned by Brendan Reeves in the 2wd/Rally category.

The competitive line-up class will also include Australian Rally stalwart Justin Dowel and former V8 Supercar driver John Faulkner.

Dowel, who is the 2011 Australian Rally Champion and a four-time Victorian Champion said he looking forward to the event.

“Activ Rallysport is excited to be supporting the resurgence of Rallycross in Australia,” Dowel said.

“Anyone with a PRC rally car can be competitive in this category in a cost effective way. It is a fantastic concept and is accessible for spectators and competitors alike.

“I have no doubt the category will prove to be popular within the rallying community and motorsport fans in general,” Dowel continued.

Lakeside Park Venue Manager Adam Ronke said the Queensland Rallycross Championship was going from strength-to-strength.

“Rallycross was popular in Australia in the late 60’s early 70’s with motor racing legends such as Colin Bond and Peter Brock dominating the sport,” Ronke explained.

“Rallycross is now undergoing a resurgence of popularity due to the introduction of the Global Rallycross Championship in the USA and Europe.

“Saturday’s event promises to deliver an exciting day of on-track action,” Ronke said.

In his second official outing for Loco Energy Racing 14-year-old Sean Bolger will be the youngest competitor at the event and will be looking to improve on his third place finish from the second round of the series.

Racing will get underway at 9.00am and following the class finals, a 10-lap interstate challenge will conclude the event. Round 3 of the Queensland Rallycross Championship will be held at Lakeside Park on Saturday 6 October.