Final QRDC showdown this weekend

This weekend is the final car race meeting for the year at Queensland Raceway. It's been a great season of racing and the final one the QRDC round 7 should be a cracker of an event.  Six categories are in the program with over 130 cars competing meaning top fields in each class. 

The standout is the Keema Excel Cup with 37 cars to line up on the grid.  The racing will be tight as 3-time champ Brett Parrish and John McLaughlin are both in the hunt for the championship, with round 7 winner John Sheridan in third with a chance of grabbing the win only if both the leaders were to put themselves out. Another multiple race winner Cam Wilson sits in 4th so like every round in season 2016, we are looking forward to some cracking racing. 

Michael Tuckwood, Dan Peasey, Matt Ross and Maxim Erickson, all young guns, make up the next four spots after each had one round where they scored little points. All, however, are capable of taking it to the top 4 and will be right in the hunt for a round win. 

In the  Queensland Sports Car Championship Alex Kenny Lead the points table for the first three rounds this year, Alex now has dropped back to the 8th place overall following his dramatic roll over at Lakeside Park in August. 
That leaves Dave Barram atop of the points table for class A. Barram [#46 Chiron] who has 346 points to his credit. Still, in class A is Phil Holzberger [#81 Radical SR8] with 262 points accumulated so far. In spite of his accident at Lakeside, Alex Kenny is still in 3rd place with 236 points. Simon Cilento [#33 Radical SR8] could cause an upset for that 3rd spot unless Alex can produce the form that we are accustomed to seeing from him. 

In class B, we have the ever consistent Grant Green [#10 Radical SR3] with a  points haul of 434 so far, followed by Neville McKay [# 88 Mallock Mk2] holding onto second in class B with 346 points. Matt Vanderburg [# 77 Minetti ZZ1] would have gained more points had it not been for an injury sustained at work which prevented him running in round 5.  

In the Wellpro MX5 Challenge regular Prodsports championship competitors will lead the charge.  Tim Wallace and Paul Ansell have both been dogged by reliability issues all year, but have been on the pace against Tony Ross, Greg Quince, Angelo Servodio, James Hay, and relative newcomer Shane "iceman" Freese. Lisa Montgomerie's times are also tumbling, and her car has plenty of pace to be in the thick of the action. 

Freese was one of the fastest aspirated Mazdas on track at the most recent event here at QR and this has not gone unnoticed. Freese was previously head mechanic to Servodio's Phat Wheels and tyres race team, and now racing his own car has sent his former boss into a mad scramble for horsepower. 

Tony Bonnano returns and will take the fight to Henri VanRoden, Tim Janke, David Smith and Shane Plohl.  

Jaime Patullo, Francois Siebrits and Sonke Hatje will be certain to test their off-track friendship as they seek to outrace each other for chequered flag glory.  

Adam Shipway and Ross Ponting will be joined by Greg Schweikert, Grant Watson and Julian Greenwood as first-time door to door racers making the transition from sprinting. 

The other categories that will run over the weekend include QR Sports and Sedans which will include the new Tradie Ute class, Superkarts and crowd favourite Group N. 

Admission prices are $20 Saturday , $30 Sunday and $40 for a weekend pass. Kids 12 and under are free, and the event will also be live-streamed at