The 8th Annual Lakeside Tribute – the launchpad for another massive season of Motorsport.

17310293 1324247724321019 5421750147949686033 O

The south-east corner of Queensland is set to roar back into life next weekend, when the 2018 season of motorsport commences, with the eighth running of the Lakeside Tribute at Lakeside Park.

The Lakeside Tribute was first held back in 2011, when it doubled as a celebration of fifty years since the iconic venue first opened, back in March, 1961.

This year marks fifty-seven years since the venue first opened, and ten years since it was re-opened, as part of Queensland Raceways, by John Tetley.

This weekend’s meeting will be the first of six events to be held at the venue for 2018, and the first of six headline events on the Queensland Raceways schedule.

Headlining the event in 2018 will be the growing field in the Queensland Touring Car Championship, where Class A and B will be in action, taking to the track separately.

It will be the first of six rounds for the series, which will feature on the card at all headline events again this season.

Supporting the QTCC will be QR Sports and Sedans, Production Sports, Queensland Sports Cars, Group N, and the muscle and grunt of Australian Trans-Am.

The Lakeside Tribute will also pay homage to Australian manufacturing, with a free cruise for owners of Australian made vehicles, new and old, to be staged across the weekend.

Once the tribute is complete, attention will turn to the Queensland Racing Drivers Championship, which will commence at Lakeside Park on April 6, 7 and 8.

Both Lakeside Park and Queensland Raceway will play host to three rounds of the QRDC in 2018, with the sixth and final event to take place at Lakeside on November 16, 17 and 18.

The Keema Cars Excel Cup will headline the QRDC series in 2018, appearing at all six events. The Keema Cup will be contested over eight rounds, as it was in 2017.

The series is a welcomed addition to the 2 Days of Thunder line-up, and will again feature at the Ipswich Classic in November, where they’ll contest round 7 of the Keema Cup on the Saturday, ahead of the second running of the Aussie Shade Solutions 200km on the Sunday.

April’s meetings will have some national flavour to them, as Queensland prepares for premier open-wheel racing.

The Australian Formula Vee Championship will commence its 2018 season at Lakeside Park, on April 6, 7 and 8, as part of the opening QRDC meeting, before heading to Tailem Bend, Sydney Motorsport Park and Barbagallo Raceway.

Then, a fortnight later, not only will the Australian Formula Ford Series do battle at Queensland Raceway, but so too will the Australian Formula 3 Series.

For both, it’ll be the second round of the season, as they form part of a massive support bill, for the fifth running of the Willowbank 300.

The 2018 Willowbank 300 will be the first of two rounds in the Queensland Endurance Championship, which will be contested for the third time, with the second and final round to be contested at Lakeside Park on the last weekend of September.

Karl Begg and Glenn Trigger go into the Willowbank 300 as defending winners, while Gerry Murphy and Jim Pollicina reigned supreme at Lakeside; a win that saw them emerge victorious in the Queensland Endurance Championship for the first time.

New to the schedule in 2018 will be the addition of the 2 Litre Super Tourer category to the Lakeside Classic program in August.

Super Tourer racing had a rich history at Lakeside Park in the 1990’s. Many fans still fondly remember that extraordinary battle between Paul Morris, Brad Jones and Greg Murphy from Race 2 of the 1995 meeting, where they went 3-wide through the famous kink.

The Queensland Production Car Championship will return for its second season in 2018, with three outings of the QRDC schedule. The season will commence and conclude at Lakeside Park, where they’ll break away from the endurance racing we saw in 2017, when they contest sprint racing for the first time. Both rounds at Lakeside will consist of four 15-lap races.

Other features this year will include the annual HQ Holden 1 Hour at Queensland Raceway in July, as part of the fourth QRDC meeting of the season, while Group N will feature prominently at 2 Days of Thunder in June.

QR Sports and Sedans return with a five-round championship in 2018, but without the presence of one of their defending champions, Shannon Cane. Cane graduates to the QTCC for 2018.

The TA2 Series will take to Queensland Raceway on three occasions this season, in April, June and September.

Also returning in 2018 will be Queensland Superkarts, Queensland Sports Cars, Australian Trans-Am, Production Sports, Formula Vee, Improved Production, T124, Sports Sedans, plus the HSV Sprints at the 2 Days of Thunder.

All in all, it’s a full program that promises to deliver another fascinating year of racing at the Queensland Raceways venues.

2018 Queensland Raceways Calendar of Events.

March 16-18

8th Lakeside Tribute

Lakeside Park

April 6-8


Lakeside Park

April 20-22

Ipswich Festival of Cars

Queensland Raceway

May 4-6


Queensland Raceway

June 1-3


Lakeside Park

June 22-24

2 Days of Thunder

Queensland Raceway

July 6-8


Queensland Raceway

August 10-12

Lakeside Classic

Lakeside Park

September 14-16


Queensland Raceway

September 28-30

Lakeside 300

Lakeside Park

November 2-4

Ipswich Classic

Queensland Raceway

November 16-18


Lakeside Park

17436307 1325156584230133 8056052841933100715 O