Australia's Premier Open-Wheel Categories Headline Willowbank 300 Support Card.


Six weeks after the opening round of their 2018 season, at Winton Motor Raceway, both of Australia's premier open-wheel categories have made the long trek up to Queensland Raceway for Round 2.

This weekend, Queensland Raceway hosts the annual 'Ipswich Festival of Cars', headlined by the fifth running of the Willowbank 300, and featuring an impressive support card, including the Australian Formula Ford Series, and the Australian Formula 3 Championship.

In the Australian Formula 3 Championship, youngsters, Cameron Shields and Harri Jones will resume their duel, which began at Winton, where Shields ended the weekend with a 9-point series lead.

The young pair can expect stiff competition from experienced campaigner, Chris Gilmour, as well as Jason Hore, who feature in the eight-car field that will contest the three championship races this weekend.


Shields will be on double-duty, as he juggles Formula 3 and Formula Ford commitments.
The Queenslander sits eighth in the championship, after a disappointing opening round at Winton, but heads to QR hopeful of repeating his 2017 success, when he upstaged Max Vidau and Hunter McElrea, to take the round win, on home soil.

McElrea dominated the opening round of the championship, claiming victory in all three races, but not without a fight from Liam McLellan and Hamish Ribarits, who've taken the fight to McElrea in the absence of the 2017 champion, Max Vidau, who has graduated to the Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge, which commenced at Tailem Bend last weekend, where he won two of the three races.

This weekend marks the second of seven rounds in the Duratec Series, and the first of three for the Kent 1600 division, where Tim Hamilton will start as the favourite to take out the round.

The 2018 round marks the twentieth visit to Queensland Raceway by the Australian Formula Ford Championship.
The previous nineteen visits have seen five current Supercar drivers record a round victory (Rick Kelly, Will Davison, Tim Slade, Nick Percat and Cameron Waters).

Statistically, history would suggest that Qualifying isn't as important at Queensland Raceway, as it is at other venues on the schedule. On only seven occasions has the pole-sitting driver gone on to record the round win - the last being Will Brown, in 2016.

Round 2 of the championship will be contested over three 10-lap races, as the Australian Formula Ford Series celebrates a milestone twentieth visit to the home of Queensland motorsport.