Excels Expand for 2018.


It’s been a long five-month summer break for the Track Attack Australia Excel Cup, but the fan favourite is back for 2018, with the opening round of the new season taking place at Lakeside Park this weekend.

The series will again hold an eight-round championship, with the category featuring at ALL QRDC meetings, plus the Ipswich Classic, as they did in 2017, but for 2018, the series will also appear at the annual ‘2 Days of Thunder’, at Queensland Raceway, in June.

The off-season saw the Brett Parish Racing Organisation part company with their defending champion, Cam Wilson, and their primary sponsor, Slideways Karting.

Filling the vacancy, left by Wilson, in the BPRO squad, will be Darren Whittington, who’ll join returning drivers Simon Winters, Brett Parish and Robert Buckley.

Last weekend, the squad launched their 2018 season, showcasing their new sponsors, and a brand new look to their four cars.

Wilson and Slideways will continue their partnership in 2018. The champ returns to defend his title, as the spearhead of a new two-car team, Phillips Wilson Racing.

Joining him there will be one of the upcoming stars of the series, Holly Espray. Flying the female flag, Espray finished 2017 on a high, with a top-five finish in the final round of the season, and will look to carry that form with her into 2018.

Wilson will take Espray under his wing, and Espray will benefit greatly from being able to pick at the brain of the national champion, as she continues to develop as a racing driver.

2017 race winner Richard Peasey won’t return, in a driving capacity, this season. He’ll still be around the paddock, as he assists Scott Kelly with his championship campaign. Kelly will be driving Richard’s car from last season.

Daniel Peasey will return. His yellow and black machine, like many others in the paddock, looks a little different this season, with new sponsors coming on-board. Peasey scored three wins in 2017, and is hopeful the #37 can compete for more victories in 2018.

Right throughout the paddock, there’s a host of new and returning drivers, and new look liveries, as we prepare for Round 1.

This weekend, the round at Lakeside Park will take on a similar look to a normal Lakeside round of the Queensland Touring Car Championship, in that the series will be split into two classes.

Due to a track density of 28 cars, and the increasing interesting in the one-make series, organisers have had to find a way to accommodate the 34 entries they’ve received for this opening round.

The solution, as we’ll detail below, will ensure that spectators will see fierce racing right throughout the field all weekend long.

On Saturday morning, Qualifying will be evenly split into two groups. From the results of that, the top 28 will contest the championship race, while the remaining cars will be left to fight it out in Class B.

From there, the fun begins, with a relegation system in play for the entire weekend. In each round of racing, competitors in Class B will fight for the right to race in the championship field in the next round of racing. The top two finishers in Class B will move into the outright field, at the expense of the last two cars classified in the main field.

That means, a DNF will be more costly than ever, especially for anyone considered a title contender, as they could face racing for a small amount of championship points, should they be relegated to the B race at any stage.

As always, there’s plenty to be excited in the world of the Track Attack Australia Excel Cup. It’s a four-race weekend to kickstart the 2018 season.







Lakeside Park

April 6-8



Queensland Raceway

May 4-6



Lakeside Park

June 1-3


2 Days of Thunder

Queensland Raceway

June 22-24



Queensland Raceway

July 6-8



Queensland Raceway

September 14-16


Ipswich Classic

Queensland Raceway

November 2-4



Lakeside Park

November 16-18