Baguley and Wrobel lead Group N contingent back to Lakeside.

Img 8029

The Queensland Group N Championship returns to Lakeside Park this weekend – their second visit to the iconic venue for 2018.

Last time the series visited Lakeside Park, Peter Baguley (Holden Torana XU1) won the opening three races, while Graham Wrobel (Ford Mustang) scored victory in the final race of the weekend, as Baguley struck mechanical drama.

In what was a fascinating battle between the pair all weekend, Wrobel won the start, but Baguley’s ability to brake later saw him eventually get by Wrobel, in all of the opening three races, and go on to take victory.

Both men are back on the grid this weekend, along with Bruce Dummett (Holden Torana XU1) and David Streat (Holden Torana XU1), who both scored podium finishes at Lakeside Tribute.

Also back on the grid will be Shane McJannett (Ford Anglia), Bob Stewart (Ford Cortina), Troy Norris (Datsun 1600), Andrew Hinz (Datsun 1600), and Jim Waugh (BMW 2002), who all featured in the top ten across the weekend.

Rounding out the fourteen-car field will be Stephen Sullivan (Ford Capri), Mark Switzer (Ford Mustang), Christopher McIlwain (Datsun 1600), Stephen Scales (Chevrolet Camaro), and Allan Saunderson (Ford Cortina).

Five different manufacturers are represented in the field this weekend. The Holden v Ford battle – a cornerstone of Australian Motorsport – will be alive and well, with BMW, Chevrolet and Datsun all represented as well.

Fine and sunny conditions are expected for the fourteen-car field that will contest four races (two x 10 laps, two x 8 laps) across the weekend.