Tense TA2 Battle Resumes in Ipswich.

0 M7 A4697

Just forty-five points separates first and fifth in the 2018 Performax TA2 Muscle Car Series, ahead of Round 4 of the championship, which will be held at Queensland Raceway this weekend, as part of the annual ‘2 Days of Thunder’.

Round 3 was held a fortnight ago, as the category featured at the annual ‘Muscle Car Masters’ at Sydney Motorsport Park, and it was Ashley Jarvis who continued his strong start to the season – winning all four races.

Since Sydney, third-generation racer, Aaron Seton, has confirmed that he’ll continue to contest the series for the remainder of the 2018 season, after an impressive debut at Sydney Motorsport Park, where he charged to pole position, and recorded two second-place finishes, plus an 11th and 4th.

Seton is currently filling the seat normally occupied by Craig Harris.

Russell Wright leads the championship coming into this round, but only by five points over Hugh McAlister, with Ashley Jarvis a further seven points back, and in close pursuit.

Jarvis has more wins than anyone thus far, but he’s yet to win a race at Queensland Raceway in 2018. The series last visited the Willowbank circuit in April, where Jarvis failed to win a race, despite taking pole position.

Craig Harris won a rather eventful opening race, before the dominant force of the 2017 campaign, Russell Wright, hit the front in Race 2, and stayed there for the rest of the weekend, securing three races win, and the round as well.

This fast growing category boasts a field of 15 cars for round 4 of the championship this weekend, including Michael Kulig, who will make his series debut. The former Queensland Classic Sports Sedans front-runner will take over the driving duties of the #7 entry, that his father, Michael Kulig, debuted at the second round of the series back in April.

A mid-season break, of eight weeks, will follow this round, before the series continues at Goulburn’s Wakefield Park in mid-August, before returning to Queensland Raceway in September, ahead of the season finale at Sydney Motorsport Park at the end of October, when the 2018 champion will be crowned.

Performax TA2 Muscle Cars Series
Points after Round 3 of 7.





Russell Wright



Hugh McAlister



Ashley Jarvis



Ian McAlister



Cameron Sendall