Historic Racing on-track at the Classic.

Img 8029

For the third time in 2018, Historic Touring Cars will feature in a Lakeside race program.

The Group N series returns to the north of Brisbane this weekend, to contest the latest round of their season, at the Lakeside Classic.

As was the case at the ‘2 Days of Thunder’ meeting in June, TWENTY-SIX cars are entered for the four-race program this weekend, including Peter Baguley and Graeme Wrobel, who have been the men to beat in Group N right throughout the season.

Peter Baguley won three of the four races at ‘2 Days of Thunder’, but faced stiff competition from Grant Wilson and Ian Mewett throughout the entire weekend. Mewett grabbed victory in Race 4, and will be hoping to carry that momentum into Lakeside this weekend.

Regular top-ten runners, Stephen Scales, Stephen Sullivan, David Streat, Peter England and Troy Norris are all back on the grid, as is Bruce Dummett, who’ll be hoping to, at least, make it through practice unscathed this time around, after failing to start a race last time out.

Group N holds a very special place in Australian Motorsport. The category, which caters to Touring Cars pre-1973, is still a favourite with racing fans, many of whom grew up watching and loving this category, while for the younger fans of the sport, the category offers a great insight into the way Racing was way back when.

No less than seven manufacturers (Ford, Holden, Morris, Honda, Datsun, BMW and Chevrolet) feature in the twenty-six car field, twenty-five of whom will be trying to catch Peter Baguley – the short, fast, and flowing nature of Lakeside Park suits Baguley, and his Holden Torana, perfectly – he has won six of the eight Group N races at Lakeside Park in season 2018, and will be out to build on that tally this weekend.

Unofficial Practice takes place on Friday, ahead of Qualifying (on the National circuit) early Saturday morning.